Milltown Park, Dublin, 1858-

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Milltown Park, Dublin, 1858-

Parallel form(s) of name

  • Jesuit House of Studies, Milltown Park, Dublin
  • Páirc Bhaile an Mhuilinn

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Irish Province of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits) approached Denis Redmond of Belmont Lodge in 1858 to act as their agent and trustee in purchasing Milltown Park from Mr Calvert Stronge, City Magistrate for £4,500. In 1860, the novitiate at Milltown Park was built and Fr Aloysius Sturzo SJ (1826-1908) arrived with sixteen Jesuits novices who had been expelled from Sicily by Garibaldi. Since that time, Milltown Park has operated as a novitiate (house of first formation), retreat house, house of philosophy and theology for the Society of Jesus in Ireland.

List of Supeiors/Rectors with date of appointment:
Edmund O'Reilly, Vice-Superior, 1 September 1858;
Daniel Jones, Vice-Superior, 23 August 1860;
Joseph Lentaigne, Vice-Superior, 8 December 1863;
Aloysius Sturzo, Vice-Rector, 8 September 1865;
Aloysius Sturzo, Rector, 17 March 1866;
Charles McKenna, Mag. Nov., 12 October 1874
Edmund O'Reilly, Rector, 29 September 1875;
James Tuite, Rector, 18 January 1879;
Robert Carbery, Rector, 10 Octobr 1880;
Wiliam O'Farrell, Mag. Nov., 24 June 1882
Eugene Browne, Rector, 11 January 1884;
Nicholas Walsh, Rector, 31 July 1889;
William Sutton, Vice-Rector, 16 August 1895;
William Sutton, Rector, 1 November 1897;
William Henry, Vice-Rector, 4 August 1903;
Peter Finlay, Rector, 24 August 1905
John Conmee, Rector, 27 December 1909
Albert Power, Vice-Rector, 19 June 1910
Albert Power, Rector, 22 October 1912
Martin Maher, Rector, 28 July 1918
John Hannon, Rector, 25 April 1924
Cyril Power, Rector, 22 October 1930
John R MacMahon, Rector, 3 August 1938
Patrick Kenny, Vice-Rector, 9 September 1941
Michael O'Grady, Rector, 6 June 1947
John R MacMahon, Rector, 27 April 1953
James Corboy, Rector, 1 June 1959
Patrick Joy, Vice-Rector, 24 April 1962
Brendan Barry, Rector, 6 August 1962
Cecil McGarry, Rector, 16 August 1965;
John F Brennan, Rector, 25 July 1968;


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Maintained by

Institution identifier


Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects